Pitching is not my forte…

I’ve been editing again today (shocking, right?) and am now up to the middle of Chapter 12 out of 36 / Page 40 out of 146. Slowly making progress and I’m starting to wonder whether I should start querying with the third person version instead. Will have to think about that once I’m finished!

It’s Pitch Madness on Friday so I’ve been preparing for that and attempting the 35-word pitch required, which has proven so hard. I’ve mentioned in a previous post how much I love to ramble and how difficult it is for me to be concise with my writing, but when you have to limit yourself to 35 words to cover an entire novel… well, it’s a near-on impossible task for me. I know that it’ll give me invaluable experience by the end, however, so it’s worth giving a go.

For anyone that is interested, here are the few options that I’ve come up with so far:

Rainy’s world upends after meeting a stray, emerald-eyed girl from a parallel universe. They must unite through otherworldly chaos to figure out how to help her back home, unaware of the deadly risks entailed.

Rainy’s world upends after meeting a stray, emerald-eyed girl from a parallel universe. They develop a telepathic connection and supernatural chaos ensues, whilst Rainy tries helping her return home, unaware of the potentially fatal risks.

Rainy’s world upends after meeting an emerald-eyed girl from a parallel universe. They must unite through the supernatural chaos to figure out how to help her back home, unaware of the deadly risks entailed.

Rainy’s world upends after meeting an emerald-eyed girl from a parallel universe. When they develop a telepathic link, they learn it runs deeper than anticipated, making Rainy’s promise helping the girl return home potentially fatal.

untitled

In other news, my geese have been fighting. Or rather, one of them has been bullying the other. They can be such vicious buggers and having been on the receiving end of their wrath, I do feel for the little guy. The garden is almost covered in feathers!

Also, I’m looking forward to Friday as I’m going for a curry and cinema with some girl friends, so that should be nice and relaxing. Although I am intrigued as to whether I’ll enjoy Fifty Shades Darker… but I think if you have low expectations going in to a film, it’s not always that bad (as awful as Dakota Johnson’s acting was in the first one). We shall soon find out!

1 thought on “Pitching is not my forte…”

Leave a Reply

