Healthy distractions

I finally had my car looked at this weekend and I’ve been advised by my mechanic that it is the ABS pump that’s causing an issue, as it’s not responding to the diagnostics. So currently my options are having it disconnected and sent off to be checked over to hopefully identify the problem (which I’ve agreed to), then either having it fixed if it can be or replaced altogether (either way, it’s going to be pricey). However he warned me that this may not even fix the entire problem, as there could be something wrong with the DSI as well, in which case I should simply consider getting a new car…

pika

This situation hasn’t helped my anxiety issues but I’m hoping that I can distract myself by concentrating on my writing in the meantime.

I submitted my Pitch Madness entry on Friday, after much deliberation and staring at my computer screen, paranoid that I’d missed a typo or something not making sense or the fact that my pitch was terrible… No, I’m sure that it’s not that bad, but I still wish I knew what the Slush readers thought after seeing so many teasers on Twitter. I hate not knowing what people think, even though I think most of the time, I’m my worst critic anyway.

supernatural

I went out on Friday evening with a couple of girlfriends. We had a curry and saw the new Fifty Shades, but it was a little frustrating for me. We went to a local independent cinema that was refurbished recently after being closed since we were teenagers, so it was quite nostalgic in that way. Although we arrived early, they only had one member of staff on and so we walked into the screen and it’d already started. I tried not to be too bothered as I’ve read the books so it’s not like I didn’t know what happened. Then we sat down and within minutes I realised that I couldn’t really hear it that well. Like, I could hear the background music quite clearly, but the speech was really hard to decipher. I could just about hear her talking but I think I missed half of what he was saying most of the time. I didn’t want to make a big deal out of it, but it did kind of take some of the enjoyment out of the experience. Anyway, the film was alright. Like I said in my previous post, I didn’t have high expectations anyway so it didn’t turn out that bad.

I’ve got a gig coming up this weekend with my band More Than Echoes at a local Pizza Express Live Music Lounge, so I’m quite excited about that. We’ve played there once before and so it’s nice to be going back… plus we get free pizza.

Leave a Reply

